• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Storage: Mylites...Inside a Polybag?

10 posts in this topic

I have been collecting for about 20 years now, and have a bunch of books that have to be freshly rebagged and boarded.

A lot of my silver and bronze age stuff have been in their bags for almost 10 years. I have always used high quality polypropolyne bags with decent boards, and looking at them, they are still as clear as the day I bought them.

I know that you can't always see deterioration. What I was wondering was if anyone else puts their books in mylites (without a board), then back into a polypro bag with a board. This way, the comic is exposed only to the inert mylar material, and has the extra protection of the board and second bag. It is also more economical, as one mylite, one polypro bag and one regular board is still way cheaper than the most inexpensive mylar sleeve.

What do you think?

It is also more economical, as one mylite, one polypro bag and one regular board is still way cheaper than the most inexpensive mylar sleeve.

Why do that as opposed to a mylite and buffered board?

Why do that as opposed to a mylite and buffered board?

Also, a buffered board is always much more expensive that a good quality regular board. Since the board is never touching the actual comic, it's not an issue.

I think this is how I'll be going about finishing off the rebagging and boarding. Thanks!