• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What Am I Missing?!?

16 posts in this topic

I've been collecting comics for almost 30 years now, and I thought I had a pretty good handle on grading. (The 9.4 vs 9.6 seems a bit extreme to me, but I have a good grasp of VG vs FN vs VF, etc.)

That said, this book is listed as a VG/FN:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=32731&item=2200094972

Other than a few tiny spine creases and an almost invisible chip, it appears almost flawless. From the scan, it appears to me to be at least FN/VF. So what gives? Should I presume there are hidden flaws or has grading gotten much stricter in this grade range? confused.gif

I've been collecting comics for almost 30 years now, and I thought I had a pretty good handle on grading. (The 9.4 vs 9.6 seems a bit extreme to me, but I have a good grasp of VG vs FN vs VF, etc.)

That said, this book is listed as a VG/FN:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=32731&item=2200094972

Other than a few tiny spine creases and an almost invisible chip, it appears almost flawless. From the scan, it appears to me to be at least FN/VF. So what gives? Should I presume there are hidden flaws or has grading gotten much stricter in this grade range? confused.gif

Beyond anything else that people may feel the need to say, there looks to be a very long crease LRC and the LLC looks like it's had an impact bump (or something.) You're right though, in the scan at least, it looks very nice. Other than that, I'm not saying nothing smile.gif

Comic-Keys manipulates his scans. It's quite obvious.

must... not... make... joke.... can't... stop... myself... softball toss... too easy....

shocked.gif893whatthe.gif893frustrated.gif