• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Since when did Near Mint become a dirty word?

23 posts in this topic

I have been submitting books to CGC since early 2002. I remember sending in my first 20 somthing books and thinking I cant wait to see how many 10.0s I was going to get.

First group came back and grades were not what I was expecting. 8.0s, 8.5, 9.0, plenty of 9.2s and two or three 9.6s. (All modern books by the way)

I start thinking WOW I thought these books were all NM and those two 9.6s were my Gems.

Fast forward to early 2007. I was learning more and more about Signature series opportunites and began collecting yellow lables. MegaCon 2007 was the first show that I submitted books to. When that submission came back (about 20 books) most were 9.6s, a few 9.8s and some 9.4s. (Most of which I have begun selling on ebay)

At this early point in collecting I was thrilled to get anything 9.0 and above because the book was signed and authenticated and the grade was really icing on the cake.

Well here I am late 2008, almost 2 years after being bit by the SS bug, and I find myself begining to liquidate anything 9.6 and under. What has caused this change?

Why do I , the person less then 7 years ago who saw his 9.6, 9.4, and 9.2s as gems in his collection, now look at them as second class comics.

This also may be due to recieving two 9.9s.

Who knows, does anyone else feel like this?

HGSS High Grade Snob Syndrome Once a collector really begins to understand the tiny differences in high end grades, they want better and better books. The only real cure is to send all 9.8 and better books to Arkansas for safe keeping while you "detox" and purify your system with some real beaters.

:grin: