• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Convention sketch etiquette????

16 posts in this topic

Hey all,

Getting ready for an upcoming convention and wanting to get on a particular artists sketch list.

As I've never done this before, is there anything I should know in advance?

Will I even have a chance to make the list if I'm flowing in with the regular crowd and not the dealers?

Any other tips and tricks you guys have up your sleeves would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

#1 GO EARLY. If you want to get on the list of an artist make sure you are one of the first in line to get oh his/her list the first day of the show. Dont wait till the last day to ask the artist.

#2 BE PAITENT. Some artists will take lists while others will not, some will just NOT SKETCH at shows.Sometimes you will have to wait in looooong lines just to ask and get turned down.

#3 BEING ON THE LIST DOES NOT GUARENTEE YOU A SKETCH. I have been on some artists lists 3 or 4 times and time ran out and I didnt get a sketch. At that point thank the artist for thier time

#4 THANK THE ARTIST. Sometimes sketches dont come out exactly how you pictured them, but remember to always thank the artist for doing it for you.

One last tip which can be done before the show is try finding the artists website. See if it has any contact info and try to contact them in advance to see if they will be sketching, if they will be taking an advanced list and how much they will be charging.

don't be overbearing and bother then before, during and after the show, just be polite.

I agree.

I have been at shows where certain collectors will brow beat, guilt, connive, and act badly to get the sketch they want.