• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

When it comes to grading..........

18 posts in this topic

How accurate is the Official Overstreet Comic Book Grading guide: Third Edition? It has a 10.0-.5 grading scale.

It's fine for beginners...you can learn from it. But will it turn you into someone that grade on par with CGC??? That's doubtful.

Nothing beats experience and communication among your peers.

I have a 3rd edition I bought off a friend and I like it. Steve Borock even writes and article in it. Its fairly eay to use except one chart I really don't understand but other then that I like it. Im new to grading so figured it would be a good start.

I have been advised by a couple folks on these very boards that the 2nd Edition is more accurate than the third. I don't have a copy of the third so I can't confirm either way.

I have been advised by a couple folks on these very boards that the 2nd Edition is more accurate than the third. I don't have a copy of the third so I can't confirm either way.

(thumbs u

They did some questionable stuff like allow defects on a 10.0 in the 3rd.

there's a lengthy discourse by FFB on why the 3rd edition is a steaming pile comparative to the 2nd edition. he wrote it just after the 3rd edition went to publication.

good luck with the search feature!

Defects on a 10.0? Thats interesting. Not to go OT but does anyone know the highest grade a book can get if there is writing or stamp on the cover?

9.8 is the highest I've seen. Beyond that, no writing or stamps are allowed.

Defects on a 10.0? Thats interesting. Not to go OT but does anyone know the highest grade a book can get if there is writing or stamp on the cover?