• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

OT: Really tough weekend...

19 posts in this topic

Just need to vent a little...a little backround first...I am a restaurant manager for a chain restaurant. 2 Saturdays ago 8/2 I was on a closing shift...at about 12:45 one of my cooks comes into the office and tells me that Benito, one of my cooks who had been with us since 2001 was sick. I went to the line and saw that he had collapsed. It was hot and at first I thought he had just passed out...he wasn't responding and my next thought was that maybe he was diabetic, get him some juice. I am able to understand Spanish as I've worked in restaurants for 15+ years and took it in HS/college. I overheard one of the cooks saying that he said "Es malo, es malo" (it's bad, it's bad) and put his hands on his chest. I ran and called 911 while yelling at my servers to see if anyone knew CPR...a guest came back and checked his breathing/pulse. He was not breathing and did not have a pulse. We had him propped on a chair and lifted him of the cooks line to lay him down in the back. Police/paramedics arrived and performed CPR and used a difribulator (sp?) to get his heart started again. They took him away in an ambulance. We called his family to let them know what happened. It was horrific watching as they "shocked" him 4 times with no results...his face/chest were turning blue...I'll never forget that...I called the hospital to see what info they could give me...they couldn't tell me anything because of HIPA laws...I figured that but I took the shot anyway...we closed early as everyone was in shock. I drove to the hospital and asked about Benito...they told me they'd get the family. His wife and his 11 year old son came out to tell m