• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Need help introducing and finding OA!...

37 posts in this topic

At the end of last year, I recently sold a majority of my business which I had started more than 10 years ago from scratch. Less than what I could have gotten for it in better times, but thankful to close the deal in this economy.

I've decided to allocate roughly $120k-$150k to comics OA and humbly ask you boardies for help as to what quality material could be acquired with that amount. I'm not new to comics - I've been a collector for most of my adult life and been able to acquire a few HG SA keys, visiting the forums a few times to find out about what I was interested in. But I am rather new to OA, not owning a single OA yet since having been outbid twice at Heritage.

I know $120k, even $150k, doesn't buy what it used to. My interest is directed towards SA/BA hero covers and splashes, but I'm open to new areas. I always take advice with a grain of salt, but am appreciative nonetheless. Don't get me wrong, even though I have "money to spend", I have no problem being patient or not spending the money at all if nothing arises, and I don't plan on mindlessly plunking down cash on the first good OA pieces that I see.

Being an avid comic collector, but OA newbie, I'm less certain of what quality material (yes, I know when it comes to art, it is in the eye of the beholder) is currently on the market and who/where to go looking for high end OA pieces. So any help/comments would be welcomed!

There is no simple answer to your question.