• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SquareTrade = Bad Deal?

17 posts in this topic

Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum (but not a rookie when it comes to collecting or buying off of eBay)

I recently had a deal turn the most sour it ever could of on eBay.

This happened through a deal with a comic seller that had Square Trade Representing them.

To tell you the story from A to Z:

The comic seller aka "spencerkiddd" (now decided to make his feedback private) with a 99 percent rating on 200 feedbacks - sold me Uncanny X-men 112, 113, 114, 115 and 118 in VF/NM and stated in his auctions that there were "no major flaws" in any of these books.

When I received them I was expecting at the least FN/VF (I have learned to lower my expectations on eBay purchases because sellers tend to fluff there books up one grade higher)

Unfortunately the books I got were GD due to heavy wear and WATER DAMAGE. Ugh!

Oh well, I contacted the seller and he gave me a refund, but the worst explanation for his oversite that I have ever heard - He said that "when I grade I never open the book itself, because I don't want to put anymore wear on the spine". What the @#!*&%!!! He also said he didn't know what water damage was.

Oh well, still calm an collected I forgave him for being a rookie dealer and wasting my time.

A couple of days later... I noticed that the same books that i sent back to him were up again on his auctions - With no changes to the listing of the grades of these books.

In turn of that, I had to do what I have never done in my five year stint of eBay trading and give a seller a negative feedback.