• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How bad do you want change?

14 posts in this topic

Does anyone else remember when journal entries used to be mostly about the actual books we collected or read? Lately it seems like every other journal is a vent, rant, or rave about turn around times.

Do you think users venting on the message boards is really the way to incite change in CGCs operation? Personally, I don't think so. As a small private business owner myself I believe that the best way to gauge customer satisfaction is to monitor the rate of cash flow and gross profit (GP). One can kill themselves trying to please everyone, but if cash flow and GP is steadily increasing than at least one of two things is happening (both good): Customer base is growing and/or existing customer base is spending more. Unless cash flow and GP plateau or decline for an extended period of time then there is absolutely no reason for CGC to change their business practices from a business minded point of view.

As with any company in the world there is one motto that always holds true... "money talks". I think if there is to be any real change then the consumers would have to band together to significantly damage CGCs bottom line. For example, a mass boycott that includes several heavy hitters the likes of major dealers, distributors, and major players in the collecting world. However, I don't think this is ever going to happen as, oddly enough, most of the people who post on here about being unhappy with the turn around times are still actively using the service. Income from a few dis-satisfied customers spends the same as the rest and I think it is a safe assumption that there are more happy customers than unhappy ones.