• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Step by Step Grading Guide?

21 posts in this topic

I'm new to comic grading, and was wondering if anyone knows a website that has a good, comprehensive step by step guide to grading, preferably with pics as examples. Basically I just would like a guide that goes through what exactly to look for when you first look at a comic to figure out a basic grade and what types of things will lower the grade. Something that shows you a 9.2 and explains in detail the things on it that make it that way instead of a 9.4 or 9.0. I've read some basic guides that don't go into any depth and have no pictures of what they are talking about, so they don't help me too much.

The Official Overstreet Comic Book Grading Guide has lots of pictures and examples to give you a general idea but to be honest the difference between a 9.0 and up can be one single defect where as the grading guide will tell you ALL the potential defects that could show up in a given grade but if the given grade had all of the defects listed the book would be assessed a lower grade.

Always keep in mind you can have 20 examples of a 9.2 all presenting differently, some with one larger defect and others with several smaller defects which cumulatively have the same weight as the single defect on the other book.

Learning to grade comes with time and very often many, MANY errors along the way. Ultimately, trust your gut. If it doesn't feel like a 9.2 it probably isn't.