• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Help me, what to do with my comic collection??

4 posts in this topic

Hello all, I am new to the boards, so hi.

I am fairly new to the world of CGC collecting, been a big comic fan since I was young, and had hundreds of comics when i was a kid, but with reading them, not storing them correctly over the years I have very few left that are decent enough to be CGC graded.

To make a long story short, I need some help with some of my current collection that I have. I used to be a big TMNT fan and have a lot of decent issues that would grade anywhere from 9.0 to 9.8, here is the list:

Early Magazine issues

5 copies of TMNT #3 in NM+ (all would probably grade CGC 9.2-9.6)

5 copies of TMNT #4 in NM+ (all would probably grade CGC 9.2-9.6)

3 copies of the #1 Raphael 1 shot (all would probably grade 9.0-9.2)

Regular sized issues

3 copies of TMNT #5 (all would probably grade (9.6-9.8)

10 copies of TMNT #6 (all would probably grade (9.4-9.8)

7 copies of TMNT #7 (all would probably grade (9.4-9.6)

3 copies of Leonardo #1 1 shot (should grade 9.4-9.8)

3 copies of Donatello #1 1 shot (should grade 9.6-9.8)

3 copies of Michaelangelo #1 1 shot (should grade 9.4-9.8)

The burning question, is it worth the time and money to get these issues graded? Is it worth it to pay to have the lower graded stuff (9.0-9.4) graded by CGC. Or just stick to having the higher stuff graded (9.6-9.8)? Its quite a bit more expensive to have the magazine stuff graded vs. the regular sized comics. I mainly want to get into CGC collection for my love of comics, BUT I also want to treat these as investments as well, hopefully to appreciate over time.