• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

PGM Thor 138

43 posts in this topic

Hello Sulphur! :hi:

Based on grades I've seen on other books from many of the experts here, I will have to say this particular copy looks like a 7.0 tops to me.

Showcase New England assigned this a grade of VF 8.0 so perhaps they see something we don't?

They are a senior advisor to Overstreet, won CBG's customer service award for seven consecutive years, and have sat on several of the prestigious Sotheby's and Christie's grading committees.

Who am I to question their grading? I'm just a lowly newbie, so I don't know squat about grading. Still, I would be very interested to see their grading notes on this one.

Let's get some more opinions on this book.

Hello Sulphur! :hi:S'up

Showcase New England assigned this a grade of VF 8.0 so perhaps they see something we don't?

Sure they did. They saw $ signs lol kidding.

You recognize the book?

Yup. Saw the listing up on eBay. SherlockHolmesSmiley.gif

If the grade holds up as SNE represents it as a VF 8.0, I think you got a good deal. I really like the action on the Thor 138 cover. Kirby really was hitting his stride with this one! :cloud9:

I see SNE only provided a scan of the front cover in the auction. Didn't even include the back cover. Not sure why they did that nor why they used such a small size scan. notsure.gif

On all my auctions, I make sure there are scans of the front and back covers. Also, I try to make the scans as large as possible so any prospective buyer can have a close examination albeit in a virtual sense. detective.gif

It's possible they didn't hold the top edge against the grade. :shrug:

Hard to believe SNE would miss that, don't you think? (shrug)