• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Whos/Whys/Whats about grading: questions from a newbie

14 posts in this topic

I'm new to the whole grading thing. I'm just now learning how to grade my "raw" comics and I've been looking into getting some books "slabbed."

But I have some questions. Excuse me if these have all been debated before, but I'm curious and I'm looking for suggestions and advice.

First off, who grades comics? Not what companies are there, but I mean, do only sellers grade their comics? Is there any point for a collector get buy graded comics or to get comics graded if he/she never plans to sell? If I have a really nice copy of an important issue, what's the point of getting it graded if I don't plan to sell it?

And what comics do most people try to get professionally graded or try to buy already graded? Do most people think that only important, key issues are worthy of grading?

Lastly, let's say I wanted to put together a collection of 9.8 copies of an entire run of a particular comic (let's say Marvel Star Wars just to make an easy example). Would it be easier and more costly to buy already graded comics one by one, or trying to find raw versions that could be graded highly?

Thanks for the help. I'm sorry about the long post, but I'm curious and I want to know what I'm getting into before jumping in all the way.

Anyone can grade a comic but not everyone knows how. And to those that do...there would be discrepancies +/- 1/2 a grade. If your not selling, there's not much point in getting a comic graded IMO. Even if you have a real nice copy - no point in getting it graded unless your selling.