• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Graded Comic Question

19 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to the CGC community, made my first graded comic purchase @ San Diego Comic Con 2013, and I just have a quick question for today

I purchased a Superman #204 graded 9.8, and I had it signed (had the case signed) by Jim Lee...does the value or grade increase? I'm assuming it does but not sure how it works

Hi.

If it was the slab (case) that was signed I don't think it's value would increase as much as if the book was now a CGC Signature Series (recognized signing of the actual book by CGC).

Grade remains the same as it was the slab that was signed. In the case of a SS signature, it would have to be re-graded by CGC. Grade might stay the same, go lower or higher ... depending on many factors )

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to the CGC community, made my first graded comic purchase @ San Diego Comic Con 2013, and I just have a quick question for today

I purchased a Superman #204 graded 9.8, and I had it signed (had the case signed) by Jim Lee...does the value or grade increase? I'm assuming it does but not sure how it works

Welcome to the boards!

A signature on the case doesn't usually add anything to the value (and it certainly won't affect the grade).

Signatures always decrease the value.

Thanks for asking , and welcome to the boards.

Signatures always decrease the value.

Thanks for asking , and welcome to the boards.

:applause: Welcome.

Happy Birthday! banana031.gif

What if it is an Avengers 4 Pedigree ?

Actually.... I think that in some situations it actually increases the value.

Interesting question.