• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

So, how long should I wait for money back via PayPal, with a board purchase?

19 posts in this topic

I made a board sales forum purchase and paid on October 1st. A PM asking if and when the book has been shipped, was made on October 19th. It has remained "unread".

I also received a PM from another boardie who also made a purchase from the same seller, asking if I have heard anything. That boardie has not received his book, and his PM's are also "unread".

I have never done this kind of thing before. Is it standard procedure to wait 30 days before going to PayPal, and asking the board members to put this seller on the "bad" list?

I personally wouldn't leave my money tied up in a Paypal transaction for 30 days unless it was discussed at the time of the sale. If you actively make an effort to start up a sales thread on the board and can't ship the books within a week of receiving payment you are doing something wrong, provided you have the books in hand at the time of sale.

I personally wouldn't leave my money tied up in a Paypal transaction for 30 days unless it was discussed at the time of the sale. If you actively make an effort to start up a sales thread on the board and can't ship the books within a week of receiving payment you are doing something wrong, provided you have the books in hand at the time of sale.

......you're only required to wait 30 days to escalate to a probation discussion on the boards. I'd get with paypal under your circumstances. I've had a couple of PM agreements to purchase books, usually by low post counters, and then never have the deal go through. I won't be waiting 30 days for payment anymore unless otherwise agreed to. GOD BLESS....