• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

NYX #3 9.8? Help with an issue.

16 posts in this topic

I bought a NYX #3 and i had a few questions.

does the CGC have a softer grading system for older comics -- and a harder grading system for newer ones? what would downgrade a comic to a 9.8?

i bought this comic off of ebay and he was advertising it as mint. however, i found two issues and if it would downgrade this comic by more than .4 to a 9.6, i thought i'd return it.

there's a slight chipping on the bottom left and a page curl on the bottom right that's barely noticeable and doesn't break color.

thanks in advance. i'm a noob.

589a8d517487d_621479-NYX3.jpg.11dce9603bc704936e737c8137ff5332.jpg

WELCOME TO THE BOARDS!

A 9.8 book has no perceptable flaws, and no book that you buy on eBay advertised as "Mint" will be anywhere near mint sumo.gif

(Unless of course, I was the seller! 27_laughing.gifinsane.gif)

I'd return the lesser copy.

If you are really looking for a 9.8 of a current comic, your best bet would to be to buy a CGC 9.8 off Ebay.

Rather than risk buying a raw mint copy and submitting it yourself and possibly getting a lower grade. The grading fee plus shipping of a raw copy will run you about $20-25.

If you are really looking for a 9.8 of a current comic, your best bet would to be to buy a CGC 9.8 off Ebay.

Rather than risk buying a raw mint copy and submitting it yourself and possibly getting a lower grade. The grading fee plus shipping of a raw copy will run you about $20-25.

As usual, sound advice! sumo.gif

hi.gif

In this case finding a raw copy might be the way to go. 9.8s are going for upwards of $200+ on eBay right now.