• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Ok so I got duped!

14 posts in this topic

So I am very new to the comic collecting world and I got duped for the first time. Bought some silver-age books on craigslist only to get them home and realize they clearly have been trimmed. Needless to say I was pissed and the guy won't return my e-mail. So I've learned my first lesson I guess. My next question is, is there still value in high grade silver-age books that have been trimmed and are they still worth getting slabbed. I figure this is the best place to come for advise. Thanks in advance!

There's value in the books but it's going to be less (obviously).

Depends on the books and the grades.

If it's a big key I could see about 1/2 the value (give or take).

Non keys, I'd expect less of a drop for low grade, more of a drop for higher grade.

So I am very new to the comic collecting world and I got duped for the first time. Bought some silver-age books on craigslist only to get them home and realize they clearly have been trimmed. Needless to say I was pissed and the guy won't return my e-mail. So I've learned my first lesson I guess. My next question is, is there still value in high grade silver-age books that have been trimmed and are they still worth getting slabbed. I figure this is the best place to come for advise. Thanks in advance!

I'm guessing you didn't meet him at his house.

My next question is, is there still value in high grade silver-age books that have been trimmed and are they still worth getting slabbed.

Looks like restored #57's in the graded 7.5/8.0 range are selling at $250-$300. Keep in mind that trimmed books sometimes sell for less than books that have been color touched or cleaned.