• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Shipping to Canada

28 posts in this topic

Hey guys - I had a quick question, and I'm figuring someone here has a better knowledge of shipping to Canada than I do, because I've never done it before. I'm in NYC and just sold 2 slabs, approximately $750 value, on ebay to buyer in Canada. Any suggestions on the best way to ship these, i.e., flat rate, priority mail, etc.? Any thoughts are much appreciated. Thanks!

And don't fib on the custom's forms.
We pay customs on parcels, some people think they're doing you a favour by not putting the full value on the customs forms, they ain't.

I'd much rather pay the customs and have the parcel insured for its actual value.

A couple things,

1.) Many people have voodoo beliefs about shipping to Canada, dont believe the fiction

2.) If you ship courier (UPS, FedEx etc), they add their own invented "Broker" fee for bringing it across the border. USPS is the only way to go as far as I am concerned. They don't tack on extra broker fees.

3.) Your books are valuable, so shipping priority makes sense, and not lying on the customs forms is important so the books can be insured for full value.