• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

New at collecting, some advise.

18 posts in this topic

Hi People,

I am new to collecting, as in its been about 2 months, I was always into watching the animated films and TV shows etc, but only recently started reading comics, and now collecting them.

So far I have made quite a few hasty purchases and probably over paid on a couple of comics, I am now learning that this hobby requires a bit of patients, deep pockets, and an understanding partner :eek: .

Are there any UK collectors that could offer any advise? I have a few questions, but any other advise would be welcome.

What UK conventions tend to have a CGC presence?

What UK based places offer CCS submission on top of CGC submissions?

A lot of Americans collectors have mentioned finding comics at thrift shops and yard sales etc, have any UK collectors found anything in charity shops/car boot sales? as I have not managed to find even worthless comics at these places.

@Davenport, thanks for the link, much appreciated.

@TVHorror, for myself, I have always liked Deathstroke, so will start on some keys. We are expecting a little girl at the end of next month, so I wanted to collect some key Harley Quinn issues to pass on to her when she is older. Thought it was better than just putting money in the bank, and she can either keep or sell them when she is grown up.

Car boot sales are like flea markets you sell stuff from either the (trunk / boot) of your car or on a table with your stuff displayed.

Car boot sales tend to expand until they're often pretty much indistinguishable from a regular market place. The local one here is just a load of market stalls / tables now.