• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Buying blue 9.8 and opening for signature
1 1

11 posts in this topic

Hello,

I’m new to the CGC/SS board and wanted to see if I can get some feed back on the following scenario. 

I saw a upcoming limited set of a Virgin Wolverine cover I’d like to buy and have signed for CGC/SS and hope to get back a 9.8 grade. 

It’s hard to tell if buying a regular version will guarantee that 9.8 and my only other option is to buy a blue 9.8 and see what you guys think about cracking it open one day to get signed and sent to CGC for the yellow 9.8 card. Has anyone done this?

Thanks. 

8 hours ago, Gotham227 said:

Hello,

I’m new to the CGC/SS board and wanted to see if I can get some feed back on the following scenario. 

I saw a upcoming limited set of a Virgin Wolverine cover I’d like to buy and have signed for CGC/SS and hope to get back a 9.8 grade. 

It’s hard to tell if buying a regular version will guarantee that 9.8 and my only other option is to buy a blue 9.8 and see what you guys think about cracking it open one day to get signed and sent to CGC for the yellow 9.8 card. Has anyone done this?

Thanks. 

I've done it a few times.  The book usually retains the grade, but not always. Had just one come back a 9.6 after signing (of about 20 submissions I've done this way) and can't really see any significant flaws, so I'm thinking about pressing and resubmitting that one. 

My secret is using some of the fabulous facilitators on these boards to get sigs on books for shows I'm unable to personally attend.  They all definitely know how to handle your books with care, they're pros when it comes to the paperwork, and very reasonable fees (MUCH cheaper than doing the full boat yourself, with con tickets, hotel, travel, food, etc.).