• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Plastic insert in slab?
1 1

12 posts in this topic

I'm new to slabbing books, so I'm sure this is a laughably n00bish question.

20190129_124824.thumb.jpg.61354caa7569f870ae04feceb597d669.jpg

This was a hard picture to get w/o glare, but if you look at the bottom center, you can see what I believe to be some sort of space insert.  That or that is an impressively symmetrical interior crack.  Would someone please tell me what this is?  I just don't know for certain what I'm looking at and of the other books I got back, none have this.  I plan on giving this book to a friend and just to be able to act like I know what I'm talking about wrt whatever this is.

Thank you for your time!

18 hours ago, Richard Holbrook said:

I'm new to slabbing books, so I'm sure this is a laughably n00bish question.

20190129_124824.thumb.jpg.61354caa7569f870ae04feceb597d669.jpg

This was a hard picture to get w/o glare, but if you look at the bottom center, you can see what I believe to be some sort of space insert.  That or that is an impressively symmetrical interior crack.  Would someone please tell me what this is?  I just don't know for certain what I'm looking at and of the other books I got back, none have this.  I plan on giving this book to a friend and just to be able to act like I know what I'm talking about wrt whatever this is.

Thank you for your time!

It's an insert to help prevent the comic from moving fore-aft (direction of cover-to-cover).

On 1/30/2019 at 8:19 PM, Bomber-Bob said:

And if I may add, the wedge is a good thing to have. As mentioned, it helps prevent movement.  I wish CGC used it on all books.