• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

New to Comic Book Grading Process

5 posts in this topic

I am brand new to the comic book grading process. I have roughly 140 comic books (mainly Batman) from the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s. From the research that I have done, there are probably 20-25 key comics that are worth over $100 each in the lot (depending on how they are graded). There may be one or two books in the $300-$500 range. At what value level is it worth it to get a comic book graded? Also, what is a good ballpark figure to get 20-25 books graded by CGC that are in the $100-$500 range each? I tried researching this as much as possible, but can't seem to find the answers. I want to sell the collection within the next six months if at all possible. Thank you for any help you can provide! I have attached pictures of some of the books that I am looking to possibly get graded.

DC Comics 359.jpg

Batman 148 Two.jpg

Batman 186 Two.jpg

Batman 190 Two.jpg

DC Comics 359 Two.jpg

Batman 184 Two.jpg

Batman 175 Two.jpg

Batman 194 Two.jpg

Batman 195 Two.jpg

Batman 197 Two.jpg

Batman 206 Two.jpg

I would probably get the ones worth $150+ (when in the CGC case) graded, but, you would have to be very close to the CGC grade to make it worth it. You can utilize the 'Please Grade My' sub-forum if you don't know how to grade comics by yourself.