• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Pros and Cons of collecting comics in the age of the internet...
2 2

24 posts in this topic

I’ve mentioned in a few posts, I’m new to collecting again after about 30 year break. It’s been fun (and still is) but it’s almost too easy nowadays! eBay and all the other auctions sites along with some very great online comic dealers are amazing for the hobby. That being said I do sort miss the “hunt” of the issues you’re looking for in the analog definition lol (traveling to far off shops or saving your money and waiting an entire year for the next convention). So I think that is the “CON” of my point. The “Pro” of this new era (to me anyways since I’m noob again) is that you don’t have to lose a arm and a leg  of money ( 🤞)  if you decide to sell like you did in the old days. My point, I was just curious of others thoughts on the topic..

Edited by Xenosmilus

If it wasn’t so easy I might not have gotten back into it. I have never had any real luck collecting out of bins at the LCS. I’d have never finished a run. I still find ways to enjoy the hunt by collecting small press. Some stuff is absolutely impossible to find. But luckily most things are just a click away

I collected comics from 1971 to 1990. In those days I was a Marvel collector, and tended to collect complete runs. Seeing all the variant covers to the new McFarlane Spider-man #1 turned me off and I quit collecting in 1990. Turned my attention to restoring my 1968 Chevelle ( and girls). Should have never sold the car(s), oh well.

Then in 2004 I returned to comics and started to collect what I used to own, like you I found it was to "easy".

I learned something about myself then: I like the hunt more than owning the book.