• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

"U" next to issue number and slab questions

9 posts in this topic

Hey all,

A few questions and hopefully I can get some clarification. I am new to comic book collecting, but so far having a great time and love the helpfulness in the community. I was looking at an online auction and noticed "Web of Spider-Man (1985 1st Series) 119U CGC 9.8" Not Polybagged

My question here is, (1) what does the "U' next to the 119 mean? I have never seen that before and wasn't sure if there is an issue with out the "U". (2) If there are just standard issues without the "U" (Or other letters) do they hold more value?

Additionally, (3) why does it say not polybagged? (4) Does that make a difference regarding the value of the comic and is polybagged vs. non-polybagged an influence to your decision on buying slabbed comic books (Yes, I know the answers will be subjective, but I want to hear what people have to say).

Lastly, one of the comics I am looking at says next to the description "Slab: Scuffing to inner well of case". Again, I am sure this is subjective and people will say it depends on what the owner wants or as long as the comic is not damaged then you'll be fine, etc. I would ideally like to know if bidding on items such as this are worthwhile since you are already aware there is some sort of defect with the item (i.e. scuffing to inner well of case). If you are aware of a defect, is it better to try and still secure that item or hope for one in better condition later on down the road (I know this is a difficult question to even begin to answer). Also, my understanding is that CGC would replace the slab (at a cost), but would the comic need to be regraded. 

Just a newbie trying to navigate through this new adventure!