• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Can I send in a graded book to an in-house signing?

11 posts in this topic

Okay, I’m still learning here, so yeah. I just checked my email and saw that Donny Cates is doing a signing. I own Venom 7 signed already by Clayton Crain. I’m still iffy if I want to send, it’s a 9.8 and it’s not the strongest grade either. 
My question is, can I send the slab in like that? And if so, CGC would crack it? And Cates would sign where ever he felt like on that day? 
Also, how does the grading work? Do they send in the paper part of the Elbe with the grade (label) and it’s the same grade or do they destroy it and completely re grade? 
thanks! 
-Clay 

0FE564CE-1E33-4549-8A68-76A3D8A826CD.jpeg

Edited by Clay Johnson

Send in the slab as is for the signing.  DO NOT crack it open as you will lose the yellow label for CC.  If you just send in the comic after opening it, the label after the DC signing will be yellow/green.

If you send in the slab,  it will get a new yellow label with both mentions of the signing on the label and if you want it be custom like it is now, you will need to re-select it and be charged extra again.

If you want DC's sig to be in specific location, send in a pre-made window set up so when they crack it, they will place it in the bag for you.  They will still place book in a bag if you do not provide one but then DC will sign wherever he wants.  Also, the grade back may not be a 9.8.  There is that risk as well.

HTH.

On 9/28/2021 at 8:23 PM, waynemel said:

Send in the slab as is for the signing.  DO NOT crack it open as you will lose the yellow label for CC.  If you just send in the comic after opening it, the label after the DC signing will be yellow/green.