• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Yu-Gi-Oh 1996 cards (need recommendation for which cards to grade)

9 posts in this topic

So I decided to catalog all my YuGiOh cards and get a few graded.  However I am not sure which ones to grade.  So I took a picture of the cards i think would be good to have graded. However on the Summoned Skull cards. .the paint looks a different shade then the others. Not sure what that about.  None of the cards have seen sunlight. I also don't play the game.. so the cards went from the packs to my portfolio. Anyway, can someone recommend which of these cards I should have graded?  I don't want to waste money on grading if not needed.  My intent is to sell if possible.

I am new to the card grading at CGC. I have only used CGC for my comics. . but I hope I can get my cards done there too.

The bottom picture is to show the different hue of the Summoned Skull.  I doubt I have the "sample" version.  Also these cards are from 1996 and I don't think CGC will grade them. . Since they grade only from 2002 and up

IMG-0524.jpg

IMG-0523.jpg

Edited by mcguirjw
added more detail

This isn’t a ton of cards, so I’d personally say look them up on eBay for ‘sold’ prices and do a similar analysis as you would comics  (raw vs slabbed including costs) though you may have to use cards graded by other companies for comps.

On 9/4/2022 at 1:13 PM, mcguirjw said:

Also these cards are from 1996 and I don't think CGC will grade them. . Since they grade only from 2002 and up

Just a note - these cards aren't from 1996. That might be the copywrite date on the card, but YGO wasn't released in English until 2002. So at the earliest, these cards are from 2002.

On 9/9/2022 at 1:41 PM, ProfessorCFK said: