• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Comic conventions still good for finding a wide variety of GA?
1 1

14 posts in this topic

I'm new to collecting Golden Age and have never been to a convention. Figured the first one I'd go to would be NYCC, as I take trips to NYC often. What can I expect to find GA-wise? Are the GA books that vendors bring to these cons skewed towards the mega-valuable ones? Do many vendors still bring GA to market at these cons?

Heck yeah a good place to find all kinds of comics including GA. Some shows are of course better than others. But there is almost that "one guy" with some GA books. You might be pretty limited if you are only looking for very specific books.

I am primarily a collector but I do set up at a few shows every year. Mostly GA and SA since that is my focus. I always have a small wall rack with some interesting books. Not always, Keys, Classic covers or "pretty stuff" but enough to get a lot of questions. I keep most of what I really like but often have under copies or books I have run into that I can live without. I am always telling people to "look in the boxes, that is where this stuff came from". I sell everything from superhero to PCH, Crime and other popular genres. As well as Pulps, Western, Funny Animal and Humor. Anybody who says this stuff doesn't sell is wrong. If priced right, almost everything sells.