• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Anyone fans of "Poser" covers...... not me

16 posts in this topic

Totally agree, Brian, a good cover design should be intriguing . . . wanting you to read the story behind it

Superheroes standing round, not doing much . . . doesn't do much for me.

Yeah, I get that they make nice display pieces for art collectors of . . . superheroes standing around, not doing much.

On 3/30/2023 at 10:19 PM, Brian Peck said:

I have been collecting comic art for almost 40 years, which included interior pages, pinups, splashes and cover. I prefer interior pages since it tells the story and they are what draws me to much of my collection, the stories I read as a kid.

I own around 200 covers, most are pre-2000. Like the interior pages I prefer the cover that relate to the story inside and have background. Not all covers have background but many are still great images. I have found more and more in the last 15-20 years that a good number of covers for comic books are just of the characters posing. Not fighting, saving someone or doing some other action or task. Just standing there like they are a runway model. 

While I do own a few cover that are just the characters standing or posing, most are related to the interior story and show characters in action or convey where is the story inside.

The "Poser" cover to me are just pinups used for the cover, I have nothing against pinups but not on covers. Covers used to be used to sell the story inside, now many are just the hot artist and their poser/pinup artwork. Many of the "Poser" covers could be used for many issues so long as those characters appear in the comic.

What has happened to the classic covers that told a story? 

Anyone else sick of "Poser" covers over running the industry?

image.jpeg