• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How much does water damage affect a comic books value?
1 1

9 posts in this topic

Old time collector here - all with raw comic books I collected before CGC was formed.  I am new to this forum and wanted please ask for some guidance!

How much does water damage affect the grade?  On the surface this iron man # 1 looks good, but has water damage on the right hand corner of each page!

2 questions:

-how much does this affect the value? 

-Can this be restored? If so will it have a purple label (likely!)

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

IMG_9908.jpeg

IMG_9917.jpeg

IMG_9914.jpeg

IMG_9924.jpeg

IMG_9919.jpeg

Welcome To The Boards!!!

I have been collecting since 1979 and all of my books (2000, except 1 graded Book) are also Raw.

From what you are showing this book not only has water damage and due to this it appears that the pages in those areas have become brittle and are falling apart to the touch.

A book is graded on it's entirety, however, brittle pages and staining are a killer, with just a quick glance at your photo's, this book appears to be in FN 6.0 range without the water damage/brittleness, with the damage, I do not see this book grading higher than a GD 2.0, possibly lower if the damage gets worse.

As far as repair, it would have been easier to repair the damage had it been caught when it happened and dried properly, as it is, with the pages becoming brittle and stained, it would require restoration to repair the issue which would probably be costly and not worth the effort on this book. (Yes I know this books value in low grade is in the $300.00 - $400.00 range)