• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

modern comics selling
1 1

8 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone,

Happy Sunday.

I have been collecting for six months now. I have made many errors in buying but have researched a lot and wondered about your opinion on something.

I have my first CGC sale going on now. I am trying to sell some items because I bought them, but they sit in the closet. I now have too many - about 300 (primarily ungraded), and it feels like too much to hang on to - plus, if I sell some of these, I can get comics I wanted more (like sell some lower ones for one higher one eventually).

I used ComicBookPriceGuise.com and searched recent sales on eBay to make my prices, but some of the comics have yet to sell (I put them up Friday).

Do you know if I priced these wrong? Will I need to go out to other selling sites? I looked into WhatNot, but I don't want to entertain on camera (I am Gen X and feel uncomfortable on a camera like younger people do). I looked at eBay, and if you don't price to sell (very low), they can sit there for long periods. My local comic shop wanted them for pennies on a dollar (don't blame them, they need them, but I wasn't planning on salvation arming to turn a profit them to my LCS).

Do you have any ideas on what I could do?

Should I be expecting to hold them for years? I was really hoping to reboot and start again with stuff I love.

Thanks for the advice.

Stewart

On 12/17/2023 at 11:05 AM, StewartCA said:

Hi Everyone,

Happy Sunday.

I have been collecting for six months now. I have made many errors in buying but have researched a lot and wondered about your opinion on something.