• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Avengers 8 Regrading Opinion/Advice
1 1

12 posts in this topic

Hi.  I am looking for some advice and opinions.  I bought a 5.0 Avengers 8 recently because I thought it showed well for the grade.  I was wondering if it would be worth having it cracked open to clean, press and resubmit.  Grader notes below and pictures for reference.  Does anyone think it would be worth it and a candidate for a grade bump?  I am fairly new to this and would appreciate the help.

notes:

moderate spine stress lines to cover
moderate staining to cover
moderate wear to cover
rippling to cover

IMG_0864.jpeg

IMG_0885.jpeg

IMG_0854.jpeg

IMG_0886.jpeg

IMG_0883.jpeg

IMG_0882.jpeg

IMG_0880.jpeg

IMG_0881.jpeg

IMG_0879.jpeg

IMG_0863.jpeg

IMG_0887.jpeg

IMG_0868.jpeg

IMG_0875.jpeg

IMG_0876.jpeg

IMG_0878.jpeg

IMG_0877.jpeg

A clean and press will not help with: moderate spine stress lines to cover
A clean might help with: moderate staining to cover
A clean and press will not help with: moderate wear to cover
A clean and press will likely help with: rippling to cover

So there's an investment there in C&P costs and regrading but any significant grade bump would probably cover that.  It's a risk.

Ok.  Thanks.  If it matters, this is for my personal collection to keep and not intending to sell anytime soon.  There are some fairly large newton rings on the cover, so I might at some point be sending it back in to get re-slabbed either way which got me thinking about having it cracked open to clean and press with a regrade vs just re-slabbing.

On 1/27/2024 at 2:00 PM, DanJD said: