• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Tampered Slab?

18 posts in this topic

Greetings, all.

About me: I just registered today, after anonymously lurking for some time. I've previously bought books from board members both on ebay and at local shows. I've been collecting since 1975, stopped and started again and stopped in the 80s, and then started again a few years back; mostly into silver with some bronze and occasional dips into GA.

I'm about 8 issues short of a 200+ ASM run, and recently found myself with some extra $. On Sunday I bought my first slab, a PGX 4.0 ASM #4 from Wes Hagen/gccbco on ebay. I'd read up on him on the boards, and his feedback of course, and felt reasonably safe.

He shipped the book right out, and its definitely the same one as in the ebay scan. However, halfway down the spine the slab is nicked with a tiny chunk missing (1/8" long, 1/32" deep), as if a screwdriver was wedged in to open it. Other than that, it looks okay, nothing looks amiss on the inner sleeve or label. The box and bubble envelope he shipped it in show no damage.

I don't think a scan or photo of the nick would show up that well. If its not the book that PGX graded, at worst I'd put it at 3.0. Does anyone think he would go to the trouble of replacing a low grade book with an only slightly lower grade book? It doesn't make sense to me, although he does have a negative or two about damaged slabs. I can't post a scan of the book until the morning

Apologies for the long-winded first post (sans scan) looking for advice, but this is eating at me.