• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Common bronze 9.8's... not so common after all?

79 posts in this topic

Ive been buying CGC's on ebay for a few years now, and I think I've detected a disturbing trend... That gradeable 9.8 bronze issues are far rarer than was originally assumed.

Common wisdom assumed that there were tons of high-grade bronze laying around. While this may be true to a point, it appears that there is NO glut of 9.8's out there... but a huge glut of 9.4's. This is causing the prices of 9.4 and below bronze to stagnate, and on those rare occasions when a 9.8 surfaces it gets bidded through the ceiling... especially for non-key issues.

At first it seemed as if this could be accounted for by simple economics, a case where less people would be sending in non-key issues, so the CGC pool would be much tighter. However, looking at the census charts, you will find a lower distribution of 9.8's in non-key (and hence less collected and preserved issues) than in the keys and semi-keys. For every 50 submissions you might find 1 9.8. And the vast majority of people spending $19.00 to submit a bronze non-key are probably expecting a 9.8. Otherwise, they are spending more to slab the book than the value of the book. yet only a very very very select few are rewarded with the elusive 9.8. But the rewards can be staggering. Case in point: