• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dumb, dumb question, but I need to ask it anyway

18 posts in this topic

As per above, if I see a CGC book with the purple restored label, and an apparent grade of, say, 3.0, am I to assume that was the grade of the book before the resto, or that is the grade the restoration has brought the book too.

I know this a total newbie question, but I generally don't buy restored books. Something interesting has come up, however, and I need a little learning.

Thanks!

Shep

That's the "after" resto grade. CGC does not provide a "before" resto grade, but it would pretty much be impossible to do anyway unless you graded the book "before"...

not sure if this helps, but i subbed a Swamp Thing 7 that looked at least 9.4. it of course turned out to have the top and bottom edges trimmed, and was thus put into a purple 7.0 slab

Defintely not a dumb question, Shep. I find this issue even more confusing in the higher grades. Let me try asking a variation of your question:

Let's say you have a book that would grade a 9.4 except for color-breaking spine wear which drops it to a 7.5, and that color touch has been applied to the spine cracks. Would the book now grade "Apparent 9.4" (as if the color-breaking spine wear under the color touch wasn't there at all), or is it more like an "Apparent 8.5" (i.e. the spine wear is still there, but it "supposedly" doesn't break color)? Hope this makes sense, and curious what you folks think.

Defintely not a dumb question, Shep. I find this issue even more confusing in the higher grades. Let me try asking a variation of your question: