• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How common is minute rust on Goldenage staples?

8 posts in this topic

I was looking at my collection which is all but entirely slabbed Gold. I noticed that some of the books have small pinpoint sized rust marks on the staples. I have been monitoring them for several months. I am still unable to verify a change in the rust so I am thinking they were like this before I got them.

So my question to you experts is how common are small amounts of rust on the average Goldenage book? or what frequency of books you come across have small amounts of rust present? Also are more of those with the rust slabbed or raw? Is there a particular publisher that has notoriously bad staples? Is there a way to differentiate between new rust and aged rust? Many of the books I noted were Quality Publications.

(AS a note these books are stored in a safe but it is a big gun safe that has the humidity monitored and is around the 50-55%RH inside and out at all times. The room that holds them also has a dehumidifier in it and air conditioning (coolant type not swamp cooler). Any input would be awesome.

Thanks Guys

-Chris

Nobody?

Son of a 893censored-thumb.gif

But seriously just wondering. The tec's clean it is mainly the Spirits. I am not talking full blooms but 1 or 2 tiny brown specks that are present on the otherwise clean staples. If you look carefully at your Goldenage books how many have even a speck of rust on the staples?

Chris, I collect books with off-white to white pages so a smalll amount of staple rust is, on occasion, the by-product of the comic having been stored in a humid environment. Some Larsons are like this (a worthwhile trade-off, IMHO).