• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommendations for an Artist to do a commission

10 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

I'm hoping to get a cover recreation done of a Joe Shuster Action Comics cover. Here's an example of one of his covers:

16091008017o.jpg

I'm looking for a close replica of the cover to be done (not a "reimagining" of it) Since the artwork is fairly simple by today's standards, can anyone steer me in the right direction of which current artist may be a good choice to commission this? I have very little original art experience so I thought someone here may have a few good recommendations.

Thanks in advance. thumbsup2.gif

Since what you're looking for is to get as close a replica as possible, I would say you need to find someone who does lightbox recreations. There are guys who do recreations of varying quality...I think it all comes down to how well they can ink. It seems to be a touchy subject as there are those who consider lightbox "artists" to be bottom feeders.

I don't have a specific recommendation as I've never used anyone for this type of work before. I've just seen some in CAF galleries. Whatever you decide to do, good luck.

Be careful with the lightbox guys if you go that route. I had some work done and it was a little "Off". (trying to be tactful here). I have seen some really cool stuff come out of reinterpretation but if you have to get a recreation check out CAF for some of the old school comic artists who now do commissions and recreations. (Actual seasoned vets rather than trace artists).

After a quick search I found this (Can't vouch for it but it looks pretty good) Bob Layton Recreations

Scroll down to the second option.