• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Grade this one Please!!

15 posts in this topic

This is another one of my non eye appealing copies of Spiderman and I am wondering what kind of grade (if any) it would receive? It looks like it has some water damage and according to Overstreet a good copy isn't worth that much but I am wondering if it is gradeable at all?

Front -------

Spidey35front.jpg

Back -------

Spidey35back.jpg

1.8/2.0

Do most comics score a 1.0 to 2.0 even if they are badly beaten down like this one?

1.0/2.0 is a fairly low grade book, so yes most books beaten down like this would score around there.

Since I am a newbie are you saying this comic is worthless or just not worth having it graded? Do you think it is a 1.0 or 2.0?

First, there's definitely a difference between worthless and not worth grading. The book is not worthless. There's a very healthy market out there of comic collectors who want an original copy of some of these old classics, but they don't have the money to afford nice copies. This is the perfect alternative for them. So a book like this, while it may only grade as a 1.0 to 2.0 will have demand in the market, and you should be able to sell it without a problem. The caveat to that is the price that you sell it at. You won't get full Overstreet for this book. From what I've seen and heard, at best you'll get 30 to 50% of the listed price for the grade.