• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

questions about CGC grading

9 posts in this topic

I am new to this hobby and I have created an E-bay store where I want to sell comics. Now.. obviously, CGC graded books sell for more, and seem to be more highly sought after. So, I ask these questions:

If I read the fees correctly, the cost to grade one book is $21.00 with a minimum of 100 books? meaning a total of $2100.00? Did I miss something?

Assuming I pay $21.00 for a grade, what exactly does it do to the value of the book? I mean, let's say the value of the book (let's say from the 2007 issue of any generic price guide) is $40.00 if M/NM; I pay the $21.00 and my book gets graded 7.0, That means that because it is not M/NM the value falls below $40.00, and I just spent 1/2 of the Mint value getting it graded, but.. what does the 7.0 grade actually do to the value?

If someone could clear up some of my confusion, I would appreciate it.

I am new to this hobby and I have created an E-bay store where I want to sell comics. Now.. obviously, CGC graded books sell for more, and seem to be more highly sought after. So, I ask these questions:

If I read the fees correctly, the cost to grade one book is $21.00 with a minimum of 100 books? meaning a total of $2100.00? Did I miss something?

Assuming I pay $21.00 for a grade, what exactly does it do to the value of the book? I mean, let's say the value of the book (let's say from the 2007 issue of any generic price guide) is $40.00 if M/NM; I pay the $21.00 and my book gets graded 7.0, That means that because it is not M/NM the value falls below $40.00, and I just spent 1/2 of the Mint value getting it graded, but.. what does the 7.0 grade actually do to the value?