• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

My first slab...

38 posts in this topic

Greetings all!

As a lurker around here for several months, I have enjoyed the hell out of reading the many threads on here daily -

A long time collector, former manager of a LCS, and just all around comic freak since I was given a 25 cent piece at the tender age of six and traded it to the local drug store clerk for a copy of ASM 147 (that being the first comic I ever actually saw - and it seemed like it was printed by a host of angels on God's own stationary just for me)...

Now, I have entered the fray as a total noob in the world of the CGC'ers.

I got my first one delivered last week - no big whoop, Uncanny XM #148 at 9.6 from Heritage. I bought it just cause it wasn't expensive and I wanted to see what the whole 'slabbed' thing felt like.

I gotta say, it's mixed feelings - the OCD collector mechanism in me went crazy with the idea of a whole new avenue of comic related obsession opening up, but the eternal six year old wasn't too hip to the idea of the untouchable minty goodness locked up inside all that plastic -

So, I am curious as to whether or not y'all have readers to match your slabs or if you have just gone over to the world of the non readable collectible 100 percent?

I can't imagine anyone came into the hobby in the post CGC era and hasn't/doesn't even read comics - is that even possible? :o

At any rate, this is a very cool community y'all have going here - I may need to buy a scanner again...

Welcome to the boards. That first slab is always a memorable one, and you sound almost looney enough to fit right in here. :insane: