• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Greatest stories

21 posts in this topic

I own a copy of Impact #1, and the story and art for "The Master Race" just blew me away. I am relatively new at collecting comics as an adult and I remember enjoying the story from FF #51 when I was a kid. However, EC comics, and that story in Impact #1 in particular, with its brilliant artwork by B. Krigstein, leaves a lasting impression. The story is on the web at

http://es.geocities.com/thegweb/berniekrigstein1.html

What other other classic, truly great stories should I look for?

Amazing Spider-Man 31-33.

Best Arc Ever

I agree.

But in a slightly more off-the-wall vein...

Uncle Scrooge #5

A quest to create the world's most valuable 1916 quarter takes the ducks to Atlantis, and ultimately, back to Duckburg, where Scrooge finds he cannot sell the world's most valuable 1916 quartet because only one individual in the world is rich enough to buy it - him!

A lesson for collectors? hm

I'll focus on the present since it has been a catch-up on 4-5 months of current books reading weekend for me.

I read 2/3 of World War Hulk & 2/3 of the Incredible Hulk WWH tie-ins last night. So, I would answer this question in the negative by saying: do not read World War Hulk. The current writer for Hulk, Greg Pak, is overrated. Do not read Planet Hulk by Pak either. Pass on Pak.

The best comic of the current decade has been Daredevil by both Bendis & Brubaker. Excellent.

Brubaker's Captain America is next, followed in 3rd by the first 13 issues of Ultimates by Millar.

I haven't read Ultimate Spider-Man so I have no opinion, sorry.

I'd nominate the whole two-year run from FF 36 - 60, the world's greatest comic magazine at its peak.