• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Allow myself to reintroduce...myself

9 posts in this topic

I actually registered here three years ago and made some 150-odd posts I'd all but completely forgotten about. I was picking back up the original art collecting game and wanted some place for discussion, and I happened to remember this place.

My handle is Elijya, you may have run into me on any of the numerous comic forums (I used to mod over at superherohype.com), or maybe at cons. I've been collecting art for the past 5 years, and yet I still feel very much like an amateur. I only make a couple of purchases a year when I run into a good deal on something I like, and a lot of my time and OA funds have been spent on convention sketches. Still, I've amassed a small but impressive collection if I do say so myself. I finally got around to starting a CAF gallery awhile back, although I only have a crummy digital camera and no photography skills.

http://comicartfans.com/GalleryDetail.asp?GCat=25149

I quickly picked up that I usually try to avoid paneled pages regardless of artist or subject. This means I mainly collect modern as there are more splash pages to choose from, and things are far more likely to be in my budget. My interests are varied and I've sought to have at least one definitive piece of my favorite artists/series/characters. I tend to keep what I get (mainly just because I avoid the hassle and worry of exchanges) and usually prefer doing business in person. I think I've only ever traded 4 things (in a single exchange). But if there is anything in my galleries you'd like to discuss, I'm always at least interested in hearing what people would offer.