• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

OA rookie question

25 posts in this topic

Was thinking about trying my hand at buying some OA.

Now, I'm kinda new to the whole OA scene and wanted to do some research before I start spending.What is the best way/place to research prices on OA?

How do you go about determining how much to spend and how much is too much?

Some quick thoughts

1. CAF (comic art fans) had a market price service...I believe it is free now...covers quite a few sources but you can also go directly to Heritage auction archives and eBay.

2. Best of all is to know what you like and follow the market...each artist is its own market...some stuff has only a handful of fans but it only takes a few to make prices high.

3. Network - if you are interested in a certain artist, get to know some other collectors that might be able to help you out with valuations...you can see who owns what on CAF for those that use it...most people are pretty helpful

That would be 3 that come to mind....I am sure others will have great advice

Welcome to the Hobby!

-- Mark

Lots of good advice offered, but to keep it simple, spend whatever you are comfortable with on whatever you like. Even if you overpay, but if you really love it and don't plan on selling, its not an issue.

However, it's always wise to make sure you can get your money out if you need to, so ask questions, ask other collectors who collect the same artist/art/character that you like.

Malvin

My one word of advice is dont buy anything for six months. Just read, network and educate yourself about any and all aspects of what you are about to start collecting. It will save you from some bad choices in the beginning which may sour your collecting tastes.