• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I don't want to give this guy any cash...

20 posts in this topic

Ive been listing on ebay myself for about 10 years and I know I find it insulting to a degree when someone sends me a low ball offer on something I've listed. Mostly because when I list items I set the minimum bid at a price I feel is lower than it will sell for anyway. I've had people offer $100 on a piece of art that I knew would sell for $300+ then get upset with me because I won't end the auction and sell it to them for less. Granted I've always politely declined their offer but it's not always easy to be nice about it. Sometimes you want to point out how inconsiderate they're being however blatantly insulting it is. I'm not saying that's the case here but I certainly understand the sellers point of view.

I don't see why anyone would be pissed, but we all take different things personally I guess...

I definitely side with the seller...it's difficult to be nice sometimes when people are insufficiently_thoughtful_persons, so I can understand the response...tact/political correctness from sellers is low on my list (when replying to a low ball and against ebay policy offer), whereas honesty is way up there...most times you simply make a purchase, never to be seen/heard from again, so I don't care if a seller is a bit rude to someone who asks for a low ball offer and wants shipping included and wants to deal off ebay in an ebay posting... :screwy:

Certainly I'd have a bit more respect for the seller if they were cool as a cucumber,

but that response just isn't much more than a blip (to me).