• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Is this Amazing Spiderman Cover # 113 real ?

34 posts in this topic

I remember there were some issues with this cover a few years back. 2 different copies of the cover surfaced. One is stat. Can anybody clarify the confusion on this piece. Even the Ebay Seller in this listing sounds confused.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ROMITA-SPIDER-MAN-COVER-ORIGINAL-ART_W0QQitemZ260544019543QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_2?hash=item3ca9a23c57

I contacted the seller. The art is the photo image of Spidey and Doc Ock. The rest is stat.

i am a rookie. some questions please.

i assume a stat is a copy of the original art on a board?

how did you tell it was a stat with original art in the photo image based on the

so-so pic on ebay?

now my opinion. i would be very concerned spending that much money with

such an issue surrounding it. better to just wait for a sure thing then to gamble

on something i do not know for sure.

Leon Arghyrou owns or has owned the original art of the cover:

http://www.comicartfans.com/GalleryRoom.asp?Order=Date&Page=1&GSub=54612

It's a 100% drawn piece, and he also has a stat of the final drawing of the center.

If you compares the drawing of the center of the piece, with the final image you'll see that Octopus' face was retouched:

http://img237.imageshack.us/i/romitajohnspiderman113c.jpg/

My guess is that Romita traced in vellum the drawing of the center with the face retouched, and then, he'd add the greys. Then they shot the piece, and pasted the stat on the artwork owned by Leon. Afterwards, someone would take the vellum, and would paste it on a stat of the rest of the artwork on a different board. So this would match with the story of the seller.