• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Are Overstreet's grading guidelines copyrighted information?

11 posts in this topic

I'm considering making a website all about comic grading. I'm no expert, but am getting tired of poor grading on eBay, and thought the net needed a good grading resource. I would need help from other collectors as yourselves.

My question is, what are the copyright issues I need to consider? Can I use Overstreet's guidlines for each grade? Can I use the 10 point scale? If people can find grading guidelines on my site, would Overstreet see that as a deterrant to buying their grading guide? How is it different than a seller on eBay saying, "This comic grades at VF because Overstreet states..."?

I would think that, if you credited Overstreet when using its grading standards/criteria, they would be okay with that - after all, you're just helping to establish their grading system/guidelines as 'the standard' in some sense. On the other hand, if you copied the information in their Grading Guide verbatim, you'd obviously be violating some copyright...? Not sure where/when you cross over the line on this one...