• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Original Comic Art Price Guide

10 posts in this topic

Hey all! Not new to comics but I am new to comic art. Right now I have a piece from Mooney and I am looking to add a bunch more. My biggest problem is I don't know when I am seeing a good deal or not. I have the comic book market pretty down pat as far as values go, and I keep up with it on a daily basis. I rarely follow it but Overstreet at least gives everyone a "guide" to start from. What is out there similar to Overstreet for comic art? What drives the art market.... is it the same as same concept as books? i.e. age, condition and issue?

Short answer is no, there is no price guide. As with most things artwork is worth what someone is willing to pay for it.

On the other hand, you have a few options out there. Market data is a very useful tool and for the most part free. Sometimes all it takes is signing up for an account on various websites. Some useful sites are Heritage, eBay (however there info only goes back a week or so). There's also ComicLink, you can find past prices realized by searching there site. You can also start an account on Comicartfans and use there market data, however this one is no longer free.

Other than that for the most part the comic art community is very friendly and helpful. It's easy to make friends and get to know people who can steer you in the right direction.

Thanks for the info! I'm used to browsing all the sites you mentioned except comicartfans, when looking for market info for books.