• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

USPS Click and Ship vs. Local Branch Post Office

22 posts in this topic

I do a fair amount of shipping through USPS - usually 10 to 15 packages a week. Ebay and USPS has really been pushing the Click and Ship deal where you print mailing labels online. I know I can save a little by using this method, as well as get free tracking. My concern, though, is the local branch post office. I have been using the same branch office now for 5 years or so. I really don't want to take any business away from them.

Does anyone know how local post offices make money? I assume they only make money if I pay for postage through them. Would they benefit at all from accepting my package with pre-paid printer labels already attached?

I would appreciate any input from those with USPS experience as well as other online sellers and shippers.

Click and Ship is the only way to go. I mainly use paypal shipping and just drop my packages off. There are worse things happening at the PO than you buying shipping online.

I do a fair amount of shipping through USPS - usually 10 to 15 packages a week. Ebay and USPS has really been pushing the Click and Ship deal where you print mailing labels online. I know I can save a little by using this method, as well as get free tracking. My concern, though, is the local branch post office. I have been using the same branch office now for 5 years or so. I really don't want to take any business away from them.

Does anyone know how local post offices make money? I assume they only make money if I pay for postage through them. Would they benefit at all from accepting my package with pre-paid printer labels already attached?