• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

An Imperfect Copy

12 posts in this topic

Damn those Marvel Value Stamps.

CGC has been around for over a decade, digital comic books have been gaining popularity, and comic books themselves have been around a lot longer than I. As a reader of comic books for 35 years, a collector for 28, and an enthusiast since I graduated from high school my views on the care of comic books and the conditions they should be kept in have changed since I was 12.

Between 1974 and 1976 Marvel instituted their "Marvel Value Stamp" promotion or MVS for short. These stamps were on or around the letters page and collectors were encouraged to "clip'em and collect'em". Occasionally, I'll go through a back issue bin (of various comic shops or conventions) and find a beautiful copy of a book I want at a decreased price. At times, this is due to the omission of these questionable collectibles. To date I have never seen anyone brag that they defaced hundreds of comic books to acquire all the stamps in one place, yet it has been done.

There are 100 stamps in what is known as set "A" including The Incredible Hulk #181 (can you guess what stamp is in that book?) The whole idea was to cut them out and order a special 16 page book to place them in. The book, available through mail order only, was 50 cents, which was more expensive than the comic books themselves. The idea was so successful that Marvel issued a series "B". This set also consisted of 100 stamps, each one a piece of a larger picture. A second book, once again available through Marvel, could be ordered for 50 cents and the pages were set up to create the picture each MVS formed; one was even of Stan Lee.