• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Why do comics keep going up in value?

18 posts in this topic

I've been collecting comics for about 20 years now. Every year a new price guide comes out at they go up in value. A few go down, but in general they go up at least a little bit unless they are newer books. Anything that is "collectible" in the comic world has gone up in value, usually slowly, but consistantly.

I am also a serious collector of cartoon character glass bugsmarv2.JPG , Holt Howard Pixieware holt.jpg and other stuff. While not a collector for as long as I have been with comics, I've been seriously buying these other things for at least 10 years. For the most part the value of these stay the same. A glass $20 glass 12 years ago is still a $20 glass today. A $100 Pixie 10 years ago is still a $100 Pixie. Some have gone up a bit, some have lowered, but the vast majority are right around the price they were 10 years ago. Not that I mind. I am glad they haven't really lost value, and I just like them because I like them, not because they are worth anything. But still, why consistent level values for some collectibles other have consistent but slow growth?