• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Info on Alex Ross OA

9 posts in this topic

Hi,

Im brand new to comic art and I am thinking of buying an Alex Ross painting. I dont have a particular piece in mind yet but I had a few questions. I saw that he sells through his website and the type of painting I am looking at range between 6-10k.

Do his paintings all funnel through his site? When these go to auction do they tend to appreciate over his initial asking price? Am I better off buying through the site or waiting for an auction?

There is one with Lewis galleries that I like. I have heard a few things about them but would like to hear some opinions on buying through them. I will pay FMV but it seems hard to figure out on unique items and I dont want to grossly overpay. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Do his paintings all funnel through his site? When these go to auction do they tend to appreciate over his initial asking price? Am I better off buying through the site or waiting for an auction?

From the ones I've seen, they tend to sell for less than their original sale price at auction. Not saying this is the case with all of his artwork, but I would buy at auction rather than his rep as it's usually cheaper

From the ones I've seen, they tend to sell for less than their original sale price at auction. Not saying this is the case with all of his artwork, but I would buy at auction rather than his rep as it's usually cheaper

That tends to be true. I picked up my splash page on Ebay a few years back for less than half the price it had been listed for on his sale site.